Genetic Code Chess

The game consists of four nucleotides “A”, “U”, “G” and “C”. Each player gets two sets of these nucleotides. “A”, “U”, “G” and “C” move like Rook, Knight, Bishop, and Queen chess pieces respectively.

The pieces are placed at the ends of the board as shown:
genetic-code-chess-3 (3)
“AUG” is the start codon. “UGA”, “UAG” and “UAA” are the stop codons. The game starts with a toss deciding the first player. Each player takes chances to move their pieces. Making a start codon with two of your pieces (and an opponent’s piece) or a stop codon with two of the opponent’s pieces (and one from yours) fetches you a point. The pieces forming a codon are removed from the board and the game is resumed.
The player with maximum points wins.
Created by Monsoon School 2017 participants:

Gaurav Gunjal
Abhijeet Katte
Viswa Virinchi
Sarthak Satpathy
Ravi Vishwakarma

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s